People who break traffic violation laws in Minnesota can be subject to having their license suspended or revoked for a wide variety of reasons. In most cases, this can be avoided by carefully following the rules of the road. If you want to avoid losing your Minnesota license, read on to learn some of the behaviors you should avoid.
When a license is suspended, the person who owns that license is temporarily unable to legally drive until the suspension is lifted. It isn’t a permanent revocation of a license – more of a taste of what revocation would be like if a person does not correct their driving behavior. Suspension is a warning against continuing to break traffic violation laws in Minnesota.
There are a number of breaches of traffic violation laws in Minnesota that can lead to a person’s license being suspended. For instance:
- being convicted for a violation that lead to death, serious injury or property damage
- allowing another person to use your license, or using a fake license
- impersonating a police officer
- failing to pay a fine for a traffic citation
- conviction for stealing gasoline
- repeatedly committing violations of other traffic laws
Once a suspension is over, you are able to have your license fully reinstated if all the necessary conditions are met. Those conditions will be made explicit at the time of the suspension of your license.
In the case of more serious breaches of traffic violation laws in Minnesota, a license may be revoked. This means that the person effectively does not have a license. Once the revocation period is over, they may be able to reapply for the license if they meet the necessary requirements. Some possible causes of license revocation include:
- conviction for manslaughter or another vehicular felony
- driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs
- driving over 100 miles per hour
- operating, or allowing others to operate, a vehicle that is not properly insured
- conviction for trafficking drugs while operating a vehicle
Obtaining a Limited License
It may be possible in some circumstances for a person whose license is revoked or suspended due to breaking traffic violation laws in Minnesota to attain a limited license. This license allows the owner to commute to and from work, post-secondary education facilities, and institutions that any dependents attend. In the event of facing suspension, this option can be discussed with the authorities.
Many traffic ticket offenses and speeding ticket offenses in Minnesota are considered petty misdemeanors, punishable by a maximum fine of $300. Jail is not an option for petty misdemeanor offenses. Some offenses are generally treated as misdemeanor offenses for first time offenders. That is, if convicted, a person is facing a maximum penalty of 90 days in jail, a $1,000 fine, or both. Subsequent convictions can be treated as gross misdemeanor convictions, which can carry penalties of up to 1 year in jail, a $3,000 fine, or both. Some traffic offenses are very serious and can result in felony charges carrying possible prison terms.
Beyond jail and fines, a person convicted of the certain traffic violation offenses can face increased insurance premiums, further loss of driving privileges, and reinstatement fees.
Call an attorney right away if you’ve been charged with a traffic violation crime. The earlier you involve an attorney, the sooner we will be to accumulate evidence, interview essential witnesses, and address the other important elements of your case. Call our law firm now for a free consultation: (218) 736-5456.